SOUTHEAST ASIA BUCKETLIST

As I get more and more excited to head out to Southeast Asia for the trip of a lifetime (more on that very, very soon!), I keep thinking of things I absolutely can’t miss! Aside from visiting the obvious tourist-y locations, like the Tiger Sanctuary in Chiang Mai or Ha Long Bay in Vietnam, which are all also on my bucket list, I have a toooon more specific sort of activities and ideas I want to try out while I’m there! So I don’t bore you to death, here’s just 7 of things not to miss while in #SEAsia:

1. Ride an elephant

elephant

A Bangkok classic but I actually plan on doing this in Laos.. Stoked to get my Aladdin on!

2. Eat as much local food as humanly possible

I love love LOVE (and live) to eat. However, I’ll be honest and say that street food isn’t really my go-to lunch or dinner when travelling (unless it’s Nutella crêpes… One must NEVER simply walk by a Nutella crêpe stand). While I’ve been in South Korea, I’ve been a lot more adventurous when it comes to trying new food so I’m going to carry this mentality on to my trip and ditch swanky western restaurants for the real deal local cuisine!

3. Scuba dive

scubadive

Pretty much mandatory in Thai Islands. Koh Phi Phi, wait for meee!

4. Motorcycle my way across a country…

motorcycle2

… Or city … Okay, or a small village. Lord knows I’m possibly one of the most uncoordinated people on this planet but when it comes to cars I’m actually pretty decent, so it’s basically the same for motorcycles… Right? Anyway, I’m dead set on renting a motorcycle, whether it be for a day or for a week, and head off to whereverland,

5. Stay at a local’s home

There’s nothing that excites me more than getting to learn head-on about a country’s culture.. And what better way to do that than by actually “living” there? Even if just for a day or two, I hope I get a genuine look into a family’s everyday routine. Praying that I don’t get eaten alive by bugs in the process.

6. Floating Lanterns Festival

lanterns

New Years 2015. No words needed. My real life “I See the Light” (Disney’s “Tangled”) experience. I might will cry.

7. Do a good action everyday

This is the one I most hope to accomplish. Whether it’s by helping out a local family, teaching something new to someone, buying food to a homeless peron or, heck, even carry a tourist’s heavy bags, I truly wish to end the trip feeling like I left some good in Asia. This should be a day-to-day philosophy rather than just a 40-day one, but hey, I’m starting somewhere.

Got any suggestions or activities you think I should try while in Southeast Asia? Let me know in the comments, I’m dying to know more!

C

7 Comments Add yours

  1. yvonnelaura says:

    Lovely list! Be careful with the elephant rides! Make sure you do them somewhere where they are treated good.

    http://www.thetouristoflife.com

    1. Lost At C says:

      Thanks!! :) I thought about that actually, I’m going to do a bit of research before deciding where to do it!

  2. Great bucket list! Completely with you on the Floating Lanterns Festival for New Years plan, I really want to do that. The good action a day idea is absolutely lovely :)

    1. Lost At C says:

      Thank you :) I’m super stoked!

  3. I’m absolutely loving your blog! The design is really clean and crisp and you have a really unique writing style
    Seems like you have an interesting life, so I’ve followed you to keep up with it all! Look forward to reading more!
    And yes, I want to see the Floating Lanterns Festival ever since I saw the Disney movie Tangled haha
    https://aworldlyaddiction.wordpress.com/
    x A

    1. Lost At C says:

      Thank you so much! Unfortunately I had to take a long break due to school, but I’m heading to Africa in a week and can’t wait to get back to blogging! :)
      Take care! x

      1. Oh Wow! Enjoy your time in Africa! I’m sure it will be an unforgettable experience!
        Best Wishes x
        https://aworldlyaddiction.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

